Board of Directors


Sean Flanagan
Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
Aveng Board Committees: Member of the Tender Risk Committee.
Sean has over 30 years' industry experience from contract and claims negotiation, project engineering, project and construction management, implementing company strategies, leading mergers and acquisitions, trouble shooting in underperforming projects and businesses, as well as full executive responsibility for a large portfolio of businesses and major projects. He was previously with Murray & Roberts for 19 years where he occupied a range of operational, general management and executive director board roles. Sean assumed the position of CEO on 1 February 2019.
Adrian Macartney
Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
Aveng Board Committees: Member of the Tender Risk Committee.
Adrian has over 20 years of assurance, transactions and advisory experience. Adrian holds a BCom degree from the University of the Witwatersrand and a BCompt Honours from the University of South Africa. After completing his degree he joined the Johannesburg-based office of EY in 1992, after which he spent two years with advisory and tax services firm PwC in New Zealand before returning to EY in 2001. He worked there until his appointment in September 2014 as Executive Financial Director and CFO of the Aveng Group. Adrian is also on the executive of Aveng (Africa) Pty (Ltd) and Aveng Australia Holdings (Pty) Ltd.


Philip Hourquebie
Independent Non-Executive Director
Aveng Board Committees: Chairman of the Board. Chair of the Investment Committee. Member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee; Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee; Tender Risk Committee; and Risk Committee.
Philip has extensive operational and strategic experience, gained particularly from his long career at EY (formerly Ernst & Young). During this time he held various positions including CEO South Africa; Managing Partner: sub-Saharan Africa region; and Managing Partner: central and south-east Europe region. He is currently a Director of Investec Ltd, Investec plc, Investec Bank Ltd and Investec Property Fund Ltd, and Trustee of the Denis Hurley Association. Philip was appointed to the Aveng Board in August 2015.
May Hermanus
Lead Independent Non-Executive Director
QUALIFICATIONS BSc Geology, MSc Physical Metallurgy, Takemi Fellow (Harvard University), SAIMM Fellow
Aveng Board Committees: Chair of the Safety, Health and Environmental Committee and Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee. Member of Remuneration and Nomination Committee.
May served on the boards of the Rail Safety Regulator, the Nuclear Regulator, the Minerals and Mining Development Board of the Department of Mineral Resources, the Council for Geoscience, Sacred Heart College and the Bokamoso Trust. She is currently an Independent Consultant, serves as the Chair of the Responsible Mining Foundation and is a Fellow of the SAIMM. She continues to be associated with the University of the Witwatersrand in a visiting capacity. May was appointed to the Aveng Board in September 2009.
Michael Kilbride
Independent Non-Executive Director
QUALIFICATIONS BSc (Hons) Mining Engineering (RSM, London University), MDP (Unisa), SEP (London Business School)
Aveng Board Committees: Chair of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee, Tender Risk Committee and Risk Committee. Member of the Audit Committee and Safety, Health and Environmental Committee.
Michael's career has involved working for Anglo American in the gold-mining sector as well as serving as an Executive Director of both Kumba Resources and Exxaro Resources. He also served on the board of Continental Coal where he was the Non-Executive Chairman. Michael brings extensive experience in mining to the Aveng Board, to which he was appointed on 4 July 2012.
Bridgette Modise
Independent Non-Executive Director
Aveng Board Committees: Chair of the Audit Committee. Member of the Investment Committee and Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee; and Risk Committe.
Bridgette gained invaluable board experience during her tenure as a non-executive board member and member of various board committees at listed and unlisted companies. She gained specific experience in the construction industry as a non-executive board member and chair of risk and compliance at PPC. She has served as a non-executive director on several listed and unlisted boards including Sun International, PPC, UNISA SBL, Nestlife, Tellabs SA, Coriant, Kanhym and Astron Energy (Caltex).
Bradley Meyer
Independent Non-Executive Director
QUALIFICATIONS Harvard University graduate
Aveng Board Committees: Member of Audit Committee, Remuneration and Nomination Committee and Investment Committee.
Mr Meyer is a founding member of Ducera Partners, with vast experience in financial, restructuring and advisory services. He was a founding member of Millstein and Co and previously, the managing director of Perella Weinberg Partners, with core competencies in finance and advisory services. From 2003 to 2012 Mr Meyer was a member of the financial restructuring group of Houlihan Lokey. Previous work experience includes Lazard as a member of the mergers and acquisitions group.
Mr Bernard Swanepoel
Independent non-executive director
QUALIFICATIONS Bsc Mining Engineering, BCom (Hons) in Financial Management, Mine Manager Certificate Competency.
Aveng Board Committees: Member of Risk Committee, Safety, Health and Environment Committee; the Investment Committee; and Tender Risk Committee.
Bernard has over 40 years of experience in the South African mining industry of which over 25 years have been in executive management roles. He was the Chief Executive Officer of Harmony Gold Mining Company Limited for 12 years before he co-founded “To The Point Growth Specialists (TTP)” in 2008. Mr Swanepoel has served for 11 years on the Board of Sanlam Limited and 15 years on the Board of African Rainbow Minerals Limited. He is the Chairman of Manganese Metal Company (Pty) Ltd and past President of the Small Business Institute (SBI). He currently serves on the Boards of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited, Zimplats Holdings Limited and Omnia Holdings Limited.